Motus Advisory Committee

The Motus Advisory Committee provides oversight, recommendations, advice and information principally to Birds Canada, as the operating hub of Motus, but also to all key partners on the operation and development of the system.

The committee terms of reference are here.

Committee Members:

  • Chair – Dr. George Finney (Bird Canada President Emeritus)
  • Dr. David Bigger (Bureau of Ocean Energy Management)
  • Dr. Charles Francis (Environment and Climate Change Canada)
  • Dr. Camila Gomez (Universidad de los Andes, and Selva)
  • Dr. Diana Hamilton (Mount Allison University)
  • Dr. Pam Loring (United States Fish and Wildlife Service)
  • Dr. Liam McGuire (Waterloo University)
  • Dr. Heiko Schmaljohann (Institute for Avian Research – Volgelwarte Helgoland)
  • Dr. Paul Smith (Environment and Climate Change Canada)
  • Dr. Philip Taylor (Acadia University)

Bird Studies Canada Staff:

  • Luc Berrigan (Motus Coordinator and Data Analyst)
  • Jeremy Hussell (Programmer)
  • Catherine Jardine (Data Analyst)
  • Dr. Denis Lepage (Senior Scientist)
  • Stuart Mackenzie (Director, Migration Ecology)
  • Paul Morrill (Senior Programmer)
  • Silke Nebel (Vice-president Science and Conservation)
  • Patrick Nadeau (President)
  • Josh Sayers (Motus Coordinator)
  • Ross Wood (Motus Technician)


  • Joey Bernard (Programmer)
  • Dale Floer (Programmer – Sensorgnome)
  • Stefi Lazerte (Programmer)
Bird Studies Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
Bird Studies Canada P.O. Box 160, 115 Front St., Port Rowan, ON Canada N0E 1M0
Phone:1-888-448-2473, ext. 162 Fax: 1-519-586-3532 E-mail: