Motus Advisory Committee

The Motus Advisory Committee provides oversight, recommendations, advice and information principally to Birds Canada, as the operating hub of Motus, but also to all key partners on the operation and development of the system. The committee terms of reference are here.

Motus Central at Birds Canada Staff:

  • Luc Berrigan (Motus Coordinator, Atlantic Canada and Technical Specialist)
  • Pete Davidson (Senior Director of Conservation Strategy)
  • Erica Geldart (Motus Technician and Support Specialist)
  • Jeremy Hussell (Programmer)
  • Catherine Jardine (Data Analyst)
  • Dr. Denis Lepage (Senior Director, Data Science and Technology)
  • Amie MacDonald (Motus Coordinator, Western Canada and Data Analyst)
  • Stuart Mackenzie (Director of Strategic Assets)
  • Patrick Nadeau (President and CEO, Birds Canada)
  • Dr. Silke Nebel (Vice-president Science and Conservation, Birds Canada)
  • Josh Sayers (Motus Coordinator, Ontario and Support Specialist)
  • Adam Smith (Motus US Director)
  • Ross Wood (Motus Technician)

Committee Members:

  • Chair – Dr. George Finney (Bird Canada President Emeritus)
  • Dr. David Bigger (Bureau of Ocean Energy Management)
  • Dr. Charles Francis (Environment and Climate Change Canada)
  • Dr. Camila Gomez (Universidad de los Andes, and Selva)
  • Dr. Diana Hamilton (Mount Allison University)
  • Dr. Pam Loring (United States Fish and Wildlife Service)
  • Dr. Liam McGuire (Waterloo University)
  • Dr. Heiko Schmaljohann (Institute for Avian Research – Volgelwarte Helgoland)
  • Dr. Paul Smith (Environment and Climate Change Canada)
  • Dr. Philip Taylor (Acadia University)


  • Joey Bernard (Programmer)
  • Dale Floer (Programmer – Sensorgnome)
  • Steffi Lazerte (Programmer)
Birds Canada Privacy Policy | Accessibility Policy
Birds Canada P.O. Box 160, 115 Front St., Port Rowan, ON Canada N0E 1M0
Motus Hotline:1-888-448-BIRD (2473), ext. 117 Contact us